Black Creek Arts Council is dedicated to providing guidance and assistance in arts administration, funding, education, and program coordination to arts-based organizations and artists in Darlington County.


Black Creek Arts Council (BCAC) is an arts-based, registered 501(c)(3) non-profit organization in Darlington County, South Carolina. Our offices are housed in a historical 10,000-square-foot building in Downtown Hartsville, South Carolina.

We offer a variety of arts programs, including arts education classes for adults and children, after-school and pre-school aged programs, summer camps and private music lessons. Our Jean & James Fort Gallery hosts changing exhibits of regional and national artists.

Each year, we also award sub-grants to arts-presenting non-profit organizations and individual artists in Darlington County.


Black Creek Arts Center Building

The Black Creeks Arts Center is housed in a historical building once known as the Hartsville Community Market. The Community Market the Community Market is a two-story, five bay, rectangular plan, brick building with a flat roof and parapet and cast stone trim and is one of several buildings built in 1935-1936 utilizing federal loans from the Public Works Administration.

The other main building, the Hartsville Community Center, is a two-story, five bay, rectangular plan Art Deco style brick building with a flat roof, parapet, and decorative cast-stone trim. The Hartsville Community Center now houses the Center Theater, a performing arts venue.

The buildings were were listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1997. Learn more about the buildings at the National Register's website.

Board of Directors


Cheryl Hoffman


Alissa Spittle


Traci Pacer
Pacer Design, Branding & Advisory


Lee Benoy


Pam Youngblood

Frank Benson

 Marci Tuten

Becky Askins
VP, Integrated Systems Inc

Kay Freeman
Owner, Frame Moxie




Funding and operating support for BCAC is provided by the South Carolina Arts Commission (which receives support from John and Susan Bennett Memorial Arts Fund of the Coastal Community Foundation of SC and the National Endowment for the Arts), local businesses, regional and national foundations and corporations and most importantly, by the people of Darlington County.

Donate Now

Click the Donate Now button to make a donation in support of Black Creek Arts Council programs.



  • Charles W. and Elizabeth H. Coker Foundation
  • Joan S. and Charles W. Coker Foundation
  • Sonoco Foundation
  • South Carolina Arts Commission
  • National Endowment For the Arts


  • Hartsville Fuel Company
  • SPC Credit Union
  • Coldwell Banker Deborah Gandy & Associates
  • First Citizens
  • Brown-Pennington-Atkins
  • The Midnight Rooster
  • Vintage Craft Beer and Wine Boutique


  • Becky Askins
  • Jane and Wickie Wheeler
  • Frankie and Frank Bush
  • Ginger and Steve Avant
  • Rhonda and Howard Coker
  • Judy Jacobs
  • Phil and Iris Kennedy


Black Creek Arts Council has an Affiliate Program for non-profit organizations.

For Affiliate Membership Information, contact Black Creek Arts Center at info@blackcreekarts.org or 843.332.6234.

Related LInks